Die 14 am haeufigsten gestellten Fragen ueber Schwarze Diamanten

Viele Leute sind sich nicht bewusst darueber, dass Diamanten in fantastisch leuchtenden Farben gefunden werden und nicht nur farblos sind. Diese Farben sind rot, violett, pink, blau, gelb, gruen, orange, lila, champagnerfarben, grau, Fancy Weiss und Fancy Schwarz. Schwarze Diamanten unterscheiden sich von anderen Diamanten (ausser Fancy White) dadurch, dass sie ganz undurchsichtig sind. Schwarze Diamanten sind Edelsteine, die wunderschoen sind und als kostbar betrachtet werden, obwohl sie erschwinglicher sind, als die Vielzahl der Diamanten . Da sie anderen Edelsteinen aehnlich sind, aber auch ungewoehnliche Farben und Charaktereigenschaften haben, treten viele Fragen auf.

 

Hier sind die haeufigst gestellten Fragen.

 

1. Sind Schwarze Diamanten echt?

 

Es gibt Schwarze Diamanten und es gibt Natuerlich Fancy Schwarze Diamanten. Obwohl beide Arten echt sind, ist die Farbe in der ersten Gruppe, nicht natuerlich. Es ist das Resultat von Erhitzung. Natuerlich Fancy Schwarze Diamanten werden roh mit der gleichen schwarzen Farbe gefunden, die sie vorweisen, wenn sie gekauft werden. Es eruebrigt sich zu sagen, dass der wahre Reiz und Wert der Schwarzen Diamanten in seiner einzigartigen und seltenen Farbe liegt. Dies ist nur der Fall, wenn sie auch so gefunden werden.

 

A mix of Leibish & Co. black diamondsA mix of Leibish & Co. black diamonds

 

 

 

2. Sind Schwarze Diamanten teuer?

 

Natuerlich Schwarze Diamanten sind ziemlich erschwinglich; offensichtlich kommt es aber auf die gewuenschte Groesse an. Erhitzte Schwarze Diamanten sind billiger und die Nachfrage ist ziemlich niedrig, denn meistens ziehen Kaeufer das Echte vor. Gewoehnlich drehen sich die Preise um circa $300 per Karat. Natuerlich Fancy Schwarze Diamanten kosten zwischen $3,000 und $5,000 per Karat.

 

3. Was sind Schwarze Diamanten?

 

Wie werden sie gemacht? Schwarze Diamanten sind undurchsichtige Diamanten in schwarzer Farbe, die lediglich in einer einzigen Farbintensitaet vorhanden sind: Fancy Black; im Gegensatz zu den kennzeichnenden Farben der anderen Farbdiamanten. Es gibt nur zwei andere Diamantenfarben die nur in Fancy-Intensitaet vorkommen – die Weissen und die Roten Diamanten. Fancy Weisse Diamanten sind gleich den Fancy Black Diamanten, denn sie sind ebenfalls lichtundurchlaessig. Rote Diamanten teilen diese Charaktereigenschaft nicht. Man kann andere Farbdiamanten in verschiedenen Intensitaeten vorfinden: von“Faint“ (schwach/matt) bis zu “Fancy Deep/Dark“ (stark/dunkel). Andere farbige Diamanten erhalten ihre Farbe von geologischen Unreinheiten wie Stickstoff, Wasserstoff und Boron. Schwarze Diamanten verdanken ihre Farbe dem Graphit und zufaelliger Gruppierung ueberall im Diamanten. Im Laufe der Jahre, sind Schwarze Diamanten immer beliebter geworden, denn es gibt haeufig Prominente, die Schwarze Diamantenschmuckstuecke tragen.

 

 22Ct TW Marquise Black Diamond and Ruby Drop Necklace (20.98Ct TW)

A Leibish & Co. 22 Ct Fancy Black Marquise Diamond and Ruby Drop Necklace

 

 

4. Was sind verbesserte Diamanten?

 

Da Schwarze Diamanten so selten sind, haben einige Diamanteure begonnen, farblose Diamanten von niedriger Qualitaet kuenstlich zu verbessern. Sie erhitzen die Steine bis sie die schwarze undurchsichtige Farbe erhalten. Im Vergleich zum Natuerlichen Schwarzen Diamanten kann der Preis hierbei drastisch herabgesetzt werden, der Stein ist jedoch kuenstlich und wird nicht vom GIA eingestuft.

 

5. Woher kommen Schwarze Diamanten?

 

Schwarze Diamanten werden nur an einigen, wenigen Orten gefunden - einschliesslich Brazilien und Mittleres Afrika.

 

black diamonds in a variety of cuts and shapes Black diamonds in a variety of cuts and shapes

 

6. Wo kauft man Schwarze Diamanten:

 

Wenn Sie einen wirklich aussergewoehnlichen Schwarzen Diamanten kaufen moechten, dann ist es hoechst ratsam sich nur um einen Natuerlichen Fancy Schwarzen Diamanten zu bemuehen. Diese Prachtexemplare erhalten ihre faszinierende Farbe von Mutter Natur. Im Vergleich zu vielen anderen farbigen Diamanten oder farblosen Diamanten sind Fancy Schwarze Diamanten relativ billig. Leibish & Co. hat eine grosse Auswahl von Fancy Schwarzen Diamanten im Sortiment.

 

2.88-carat-fancy-black-cushion-halo-earrings

2.88 carat Fancy Black Cushion Diamond Halo Earrings

 

 

Falls Sie sich je an farbigem Diamantenschmuck interessiert haben, dann haben Sie vielleicht bemerkt, dass im Internet mehr Schwarzer Diamantenschmuck angeboten wird als andere farbige Diamanten. Dies, weil sie meistens verbessert oder behandelt wurden und somit nicht annaehernd so wertvoll sind wie Natuerliche Fancy Schwarze Diamanten. Wenn Sie von Ihrem Juwelier schwarzen Diamantenschmuck kaufen ist es wichtig anzugeben, dass Sie ausschliesslich einen seltenen Natuerlichen Fancy Schwarzen Diamanten suchen und keine Imitation. In der Annahme, dass Ihr Juwelier ein vertrauenswuerdiger, beurkundeter Profi ist, wird er Ihnen die echte Ware beschaffen und keine behandelte Version. Fordern Sie das GIA Zertifikat und nehmen Sie die Orginalkopie mit Ihrem Schmuckkauf entgegen. Sie koennen vertrauen daran haben, dass das GIA, als Sicherheit ihrer Authentitaet, nur Natuerliche Schwarze Diamanten attestiert. Bei den erschwinglichen Preisen lohnt es sich fuer Sie, den echten Edelstein zu besitzen. Dies ist nur bei auserwaehlten Diamantenhaendlern erhaeltlich.

 

7. Wer ist beruehmt dafuer, dass er auf dem Roten Teppich Schwarze Diamanten traegt?

 

Natuerlich ist einer der beruehmtesten Schwarzen Diamanten, der erfundene Verlobungsring, den Mr. Big, Carrie Bradshaw, in der beliebten Fernsehsendung, Sex and the City, gegeben hat. Sowie er ihr den schwarzen, umrandeten Diamantenring ueberreicht, erklaert er ihr, dass er ihn ihr gibt, denn sie sei “ nicht wie alle andere“. In der echten Welt, erhielt die Mode-Ikone Carmen Electra einen Schwarzen Diamanten- Verlobungsring, vom Rocker, Rob Patterson. Schwarze Diamantenohrringe wurden an den Ohren von Katherine Heigl, Angelina Jolie, Cate Blanchett, Evan Rachel Wood, Jennifer Lawrence, Lauren Conrad und Sarah Jessica Parker erblickt, um nur einige zu nennen.

Gwenyth Paltrow ist beruehmt dafuer, dass sie ein Ketten-Pave- Schwarzes- Diamantenarmband,2011, zu den Emmy’s getragen hat. Angelina ueberreichte ihrem Mann, Brad Pitt ein Paar Pave-Schwarze- Diamanten-Schlangen- Manschettenknoepfe.

 

8. Gibt es beruehmte Schwarze Diamanten?

 

Der beruehmteste Schwarze Diamant aller Zeiten ist der “Black Orlov“, eine 67,50 Karat, cushion-cut Diamanten-Brosche, umgeben von 108 weissen Diamanten und schwebend unter einer 124 Diamantenkette. Die Legende sagt, dass der “Black Orlov“ , ebenfalls als “Eye of Brahma“ bekannt, ein ungeschliffener 195-karaetiger, schwarzer Stein war. Er wurde vom Auge der Statue des heiligen Hindu Gottes Brahma, in einem Tempel in Suedindien, herausgerissen. Aehnliche Geschichten gibt es um den legendaeren “Hope Diamond“. Andere bekannte Schwarze Diamanten sind der “Gruosi Diamant“, der “Table of Islam“, der “Korloff Noir“, der “Black Star of Africa“und der “Spirit of de Grisogono“. 

 

Der alte Moghul-Schliff, 312,24 Karat, schwarze “Spirit of de Grisogono“ ist der groesste Schwarze Diamant der Welt. Er wurde in der Zentralafrika Republik abgebaut. Andere Einzelheiten des Diamanten sind nicht bekannt. 

 

Der herzfoermige, 115,34 Karat, schwarze “ Gruosi Diamant“ wurde 1998 in Indien entdeckt. Er wurde von de Grisogono, dem weltberuehmten Spezialisten im Schleifen von Schwarzen Diamanten, geschliffen. 

 

Der “Table of Islam“ ist ein Fancy –Black- Emerald –Quadratschnitt- Diamant, der beeidruckende 160,18 Karat wiegt. Mehr ist nicht ueber diesen Diamanten bekannt. 

 

Der “Black Star of Africa“ ist ein stattlicher, 202 Karat, Fancy Black Diamant. Dieser Schwarze Diamant wurde zum letzten Mal 1971 in Tokyo gesehen. 

 

Der 88 Karat “Karloff Noir“ befindet sich jetzt bei den Karloff Juwelieren in Frankreich und hat den Ruf, dem Eigentuemer, Glueck zu bringen.

 

 

9. Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Schwarzen Diamanten und Weissen/Farblosen Diamanten?

 

Schwarze und Farblose Diamanten sind beinahe gleich. Bevor die kimberlite Ablagerungen die Oberflaeche der Erde erreicht haben und waehrend der Bildung der Diamanten, wurde die schwarze Farbe erreicht durch Aufnahme von Graphit in der kristallinen Struktur. Daher ist der einzige Unterschied, dass Schwarze Diamanten die Bleiaufnahme aufweisen und farblose Diamanten dies nicht haben. Sie wurden beide durch hohen Druck auf das Kohlenstoffelement, unter der Erdoberflaeche, geformt. Dies bewirkt ein wiederholtes geometrisches Muster im Kristallgitter. Schwarze Diamanten sind vollkommen echte Diamanten, und bis auf die Farbe, fast genau den farblosen Diamanten gleich. 

 Fancy Black and Pave Diamond Flower Ring (7.25Ct TW)

A Leibish & Co. 7.25 ct Fancy Black and Pave White Diamond Flower Ring

 

 

10. Sind Schwarze Diamanten eine Anlage wert?

 

Im Allgemeinen werden Pink, Rote und Blaue Diamanten als die hauptsaechlichen Diamantenfarben zum Investieren betrachtet. Ein Anlagediamant ist der, dessen Wert im Laufe der Zeit deutlich steigt, waehrend sich das Angebot verringert, und die Nachfrage jedoch weiterhin steigt. Ein Schwarzer Diamant wuerde nur als Anlage gewertet werden, wenn er entsprechend gross ist oder ein kennzeichnendes Merkmal oder Attribut hat. Dadurch waere die Nachfrage am Markt entsprechend stark. Wenden Sie sich an unsere Diamanten Investment Abteilung bei investments@leibish.com um sich beraten zu lassen. 

 

11. Wie pflege ich meinen Schwarzen Diamanten?

 

Pflegen Sie Ihren Schwarzen Diamanten genau so wie Sie jeden anderen Diamanten pflegen wuerden. Am Besten reinigt man einen Diamanten bei einem professionellen Juwelier, der ein Schmuckstueck unter Dampfdruck stellt um Schmutz und Staub zu entfernen. Wenn Sie Ihren Diamanten jedoch zu Hause saeubern, waere das Beste eine weiche Buerste ( wie zum Beispiel eine Zahnbuerste) zu benutzen und milde Seife (wie zum Beispiel Geschirrspuelmittel) zu verwenden. Buersten Sie das Schmuckstueck vorsichtig ab und spuelen Sie es unter warmen Wasser ab. Trocknen Sie es mit einem Poliertuch ab um das Beste Resultat zu erzielen. 

 toothbrush and soap to clean diamonds

Caring for diamond jewelry - dishwashing soap and a toothbrush

 

 

12. Sind Schwarze Diamanten selten?

 

Natuerlich Fancy Schwarze Diamanten sind in der Tat seltener als uebliche farblose Diamanten. Am Markt gibt es 2 Arten von Schwarzen Diamanten: Diamanten die bei ihrer Entwicklung schwarz geworden sind und Diamanten, die verbessert (befeuert) wurden um die schwarze Farbe aufzuweisen. Solche Diamanten haben keinesfalls die seltenste Farbe der Natur, werden aber sehr geschaetzt wegen ihrer kuensterlischen Schoenheit und ihrem dunklem Reiz. Oft werden sie bei Schmuckstuecken fuer Maenner, als maskuline Note, eingearbeitet.

 5.09-carat-fancy-black-round-diamond-ring

A Leibish & Co. 5.09 carat Fancy Black Round Diamond rose gold Ring

 

 

13. Sehen Schwarze Diamanten gut als Schmuckstuecke aus?

 

Schwarze Diamanten sind wunderschoene Juwelen und werden als strahlendes Kernstueck der Schmuckstuecke fuer Maenner und Frauen betrachtet. Sie finden Verwendung als Manschettenknoepfe, Verlobungs-und Trauringe, Armbaender und Kolliers. Hoechstwahrscheinlich schaetzen und geniessen Sie Ihre Diamanten am Meisten, wenn sie in einem Schmuckstueck gefasst sind, an dem Sie sich erfreuen koennen. Es stellt absolut kein Risiko fuer die „Gesundheit“ Ihres Diamanten dar, wenn Sie ihn tragen und benutzen. Dies ist der Grund warum viele Leute sich in einen spezifischen Diamanten verlieben lassen. Sie fassen ihn dann in ein Schmuckstueck ein, so dass sie ihren Kauf, soweit wie moeglich, voll geniessen koennen. Ob er zur Feier einer besonderen Gelegenheit gekauft wurde oder einfach“ nur weil“- ein Diamant ist eine wunderschoene Geste der Ewigkeit, des Erbgutes und der Liebe. Wir bestaerken Sie dabei sich fuer immer an ihm zu erfreuen.

 

Black Diamond Emerald Cut Diamond Ring (14.61Ct TW)

A Leibish & Co. 14.61 ct Fancy Black Emerald Cut Diamond Ring

 

 

14. Kann ich einen Schwarzen Diamanten als Verlobungsring tragen?

 

Sie koennen einen Schwarzen Diamanten auf jeden Fall als Verlobungsring tragen. Das Konzept von farblosen Verlobungsringen wurde von der De Beers Diamantengesellschaft 1940 populaer gemacht. Davor, sowie in den Jahrzenten danach, waehlen viele Braeute aus einer Vielzahl von Edelsteinen das Kernstueck fuer ihren Verlobungsring aus. Dies koennen Edelsteine, farbige Diamanten, und Kernstuecke in Farbe sein. Normalerweise sucht die Braut den Verlobungsring aus, der ihrem persoenlichen Stil und Geschmack am Besten entspricht, egal welcher Stil dies ist. Wichtig ist nur in Betracht zu nehmen, dass Sie Ihren Ring lieben sollen, da Sie ihn taeglich, das ganze Leben lang, tragen werden. Moeglicherweise werden Sie ihn auch als geschaetztes Andenken an zukuenftige Generationen weitervererben. Da es Ihr eigen ist, um Ihre Liebe zu feiern, waehlen Sie den Ring, den Sie am meisten begehren, egal welchen Rat Sie erhalten haben oder was ueblich ist.

 

Klingen Schwarze Diamanten interessant? Sehen Sie sich unsere einmalige Kollektion von Schwarzen Diamant Schmuckstuecken an

 

Mitwirkender: Benji Margolese

 

Verwandte Artikel über Diamanten

article image
What are Yellow Diamonds, Are Yellow Diamonds Expensive and More FAQ
article image
Why Invest in Diamonds and More FAQ About Diamond Investment
Black is Black - The Color Black in Fashion
The Black Orlov Diamond
Video Gallery
icon scroll icon scroll

Contact
X
Your cart is empty

The 14 Most Asked Questions About Black Diamonds

Many people are unaware of the fantastically vibrant colors diamonds are available in. As opposed to the regular colorless stones, they can also be found in Red, Violet, Pink, Blue, Yellow, Green, Orange, Purple, Champagne, Gray, Fancy White, and Fancy Black.

 

Natural Black diamonds are somewhat different from most other diamonds in that they are entirely opaque. These stones are incredibly precious, absolutely beautiful, and considered quite valuable. Still, even with all the hype of black diamonds, these stones are more affordable than most other natural fancy colored diamonds. Due to their similarities to other gemstones as well as unusual color and characteristics, many questions arise. Here are some of the commonly asked questions.

 

 

1. Are Black Diamonds Real?

 

There are black diamonds, and there are Natural Fancy Black Diamonds. Though both types are real, the black color in the first group is not natural. It is the result of heating treatments. Natural Fancy Black Diamonds on the other hand are found in the rough with the same black color they display when they are bought. Needless to say the real appeal and value in black diamonds is in their unique and rare color, which is only the case if they are found this way.

 

Black diamonds and jewelry

A mix of Leibish & Co. black diamonds and jewelry

 

 

 

2. Are Black Diamonds Expensive?

 

Natural black diamonds are quite affordable, but obviously it depends on the size sought after. Heated black diamonds are less expensive and the demand is quite low as most prefer the real thing. In general, the prices run from around $300 per carat. Fancy Black Diamonds will cost anywhere from $3,000 to $5,000 per carat. 

 

3. What are Black Diamonds? How are they Made?

 

Black diamonds are opaque diamonds with a black color that come in only one color-intensity: Fancy Black, unlike the characteristic of color in other color diamonds. Only two other diamond colors come in just the Fancy intensity, and these are White and Red diamonds. Fancy White diamonds are also similar in that they are opaque, although Red diamonds do not share this characteristic. Other color diamonds are found in a variety of color intensities ranging from Faint to Fancy Deep/Dark. Unlike other color diamonds that receive their color from geological impurities such as nitrogen, hydrogen, and boron, black diamonds owe their color to the inclusion of graphite and random clustering throughout the diamond. Over the years, black diamonds have grown greatly in terms of popularity due to celebrities who have been seen sporting black diamond jewelry.

 

 22Ct TW Marquise Black Diamond and Ruby Drop Necklace (20.98Ct TW)

A Leibish & Co. 22 Ct Fancy Black Marquise Diamond and Ruby Drop Necklace

 

 

4. What are Enhanced Black Diamonds?

 

Since black diamonds are so rare, some diamantaires began artificially enhancing low quality colorless diamonds by burning them in the rough state until they receive the opaque black color. This brings down the price compared to a natural black diamond drastically, but is entirely artificial and will not be graded by the GIA.

 

Diamond Ring Giveaway

 

5. Where Do Black Diamonds Come From?

 

Black diamonds are found in very few locations. These locations include Brazil and Central Africa.

 

black diamonds in a variety of cuts and shapes Black diamonds in a variety of cuts and shapes

 

6. Where to Buy Black Diamonds:

 

If you truly want a special black diamond, then it is highly advised to look only for a natural Fancy Black Diamond. These beauties received their mesmerizing color from Mother Nature. Compared to many other colored diamonds, or colorless diamonds, Fancy Black Diamonds are rather inexpensive. Leibish & Co. holds a large selection of Fancy Black Diamonds.

 

2.88-carat-fancy-black-cushion-halo-earrings

2.88 carat Fancy Black Cushion Diamond Halo Earrings

 

 

If you have looked into buying color diamond jewelry you may have noticed on the internet that there are more pieces displaying black diamonds than most other colors of diamonds. This is because many of them have been enhanced or treated, and are not nearly as valuable as Natural Fancy Black Diamonds. It is important to specify that you are looking for the rare Natural Fancy Black Diamond, and not an imitation, when you are buying black diamond jewelry from your jeweler. Assuming your jeweler is a trusted and certified professional, he will provide you with the real thing and not an enhanced version. Ask to see the GIA certificate and receive the original copy with your jewelry purchase, as you can trust that the GIA only grades natural black diamonds as an assurance of its genuineness. With the affordable prices, it is worth your while to own the real deal, which is only available at select diamond dealers.

 

7. Who is Famous for Wearing Black Diamonds on the Red Carpet?

 

Of course, one of the most famous black diamonds is the fictional engagement rings that Mr. Big gives Carrie Bradshaw in the wildly popular tv show Sex and the City. When he presents her with the black diamond halo ring, he tells her that he has given it to her because she is 'not like anyone else'. In the real world, fashion icon Carmen Electra received a black diamond engagement ring from rocker Rob Patterson, and black diamond earrings have been spotted on the likes of Katherine Heigl, Angelina Jolie, Cate Blanchett, Evan Rachel Wood, Jennifer Lawrence, Lauren Conrad, and Sarah Jessica Parker, to name a few.

 

 

Jennifer Lawrence in black diamond earringsJennifer Lawrence in black diamond stud earrings at the Hunger Games premiere

 

Gwenyth Paltrow pave black diamond chain link bracelet

Gwenyth Paltrow's pave black diamond chain link bracelet

 

 

Gwenyth Paltrow is famous for having worn a chain-link pave black diamond bracelet at the Emmy's in 2011, and Angelina gave a pair of pave black diamond serpent cufflinks to husband Brad Pitt.  

 

Angelina Jolie's black diamond serpent cufflink present to Brad PittBlack Diamond and Emerald Serpent Cufflinks By Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt

 

 

 

8. Are There any Famous Black Diamonds?

 

The most famous black diamond of all time is the Black Orlov, a 67.50 carat, cushion-cut diamond brooch surrounded by 108 white diamonds and suspended from a 124-diamond necklace. Legend has it that the Black Orlov, also known as the "Eye of Brahma" was an uncut black stone of 195 carats, pried out of the eye of the statute of the sacred Hindu God Brahma, from a temple in Southern India. It takes much from the story surrounding the legendary Hope diamond. Other famous black diamond include the Gruosi diamond, the Table of Islam, the Korloff Noir, the Black Star of Africa, and the Spirit of de Grisogono diamond. 

 

The old Moghul-cut, 312.24 carat, black Spirit of de Grisogono diamond is the largest black diamond in the world. It was mined in the Central African Republic but further details of the diamond are not known. 

 

The heart-shaped, 115.34 carat black Gruosi diamond was discovered in India in 1998 and was cut by the world renowned black diamond cutting specialist, de Grisogono. 

 

The Table of Islam is a Fancy Black square emerald cut diamond weighing in at an impressive 160.18 carats. Little more is known about this diamond. 

 

The Black Star of Africa is an impressive 202 carat Fancy Black diamond. This black diamond was seen for the last time in Tokyo in 1971. 

 

The 88 carat Korloff Noir diamond is now located with the Korloff jewelers in France and is reputed to bring good luck to the owner.

 

the Black Orlov diamond

The Black Orlov diamond

 

 

 

9. What is the Difference Between Black Diamonds and White/Colorless Diamonds?

 

Black diamonds and colorless diamonds are almost exactly the same except for the fact that the black color is produced by the inclusion of graphite in the crystalline structure during the diamond's formation, before the kimberlite deposits reached the Earth's surface. Therefore, the only difference between them is that black diamonds have the graphite inclusion and colorless diamonds do not. They are both formed by high pressure on the element of carbon under the Earth's surface, that produces a repeating geometric pattern in the crystal lattice. Black diamonds are completely real diamonds and almost exactly the same as colorless diamonds except for the color. 

 Fancy Black and Pave Diamond Flower Ring (7.25Ct TW)

A Leibish & Co. 7.25 ct Fancy Black and Pave White Diamond Flower Ring

 

 

10. Are Black Diamonds an Investment?

 

Generally, pink, red, and blue diamonds are considered the prime diamond colors for investment. An investment diamond is one that will rise considerably in value over time as their supply deteriorates and demand continues to rise. A black diamond would only be considered an investment item if it was considerably large or had a distinctive feature or factor that would make it in high demand in the market. Consult with our diamond investment department at investments@leibish.com for further advice. 

 

11. How Do I Care For My Black Diamond?

 

Care for your black diamond the exact same way that you would care for any diamond. The best way to clean a diamond is with a professional jeweler, who will power steam a piece of jewelry to remove all of the dirt and grime. However, if you are cleaning your diamond at home, the best way to clean it would be with a gentle brush like a toothbrush, and a gentle soap like dishwashing liquid. Carefully brush the piece of jewelry with the soap and rinse under warm water. Dry with a polishing cloth for best results. 

 toothbrush and soap to clean diamonds

Caring for diamond jewelry - dishwashing soap and a toothbrush

 

 

12. Are Black Diamonds Rare?

 

Natural fancy black diamonds are indeed more rare than common colorless diamonds. There are 2 kinds of black diamonds in the marketplace, diamonds that because black naturally during their formation and diamonds that are enhanced (burned) to display a black color. While they are by no means the rarest occurring color in nature, they are one of the most valued for their artistic beauty and dark allure, and are often incorporated into Men's jewelry as a masculine touch.

 5.09-carat-fancy-black-round-diamond-ring

A Leibish & Co. 5.09 carat Fancy Black Round Diamond rose gold Ring

 

 

13. Do Black Diamonds Look Good as Jewelry?

 

Black diamonds look wonderful on jewelry, and have been seen as the glowing centerpiece of jewelry for both men and women, from cufflinks to engagement rings, wedding bands, bracelets and necklaces. Like all diamonds, you are most likely to see, appreciate, and enjoy your diamonds when they are set in a piece of jewelry for you to enjoy, and there is absolutely no risk to the health of your diamond if you wear it and use it. For this reason, many people let themselves fall in love with a specific diamond and set it into a piece of jewelry so that they can fully enjoy their purchase to the greatest extent possible. Whether it is to celebrate a special occasion or something that you bought just because, a diamond is a beautiful gesture of eternity, heritage, and love and we encourage you to enjoy it forever.

 

Black Diamond Emerald Cut Diamond Ring (14.61Ct TW)

A Leibish & Co. 14.61 ct Fancy Black Emerald Cut Diamond Ring

 

 

14. Can I Wear a Black Diamond as My Engagement Ring?

 

You most certainly can wear a black diamond as your engagement ring! The concept of colorless diamond engagement rings was popularized by the De Beers diamond corporation in the 1940s. However, before this and in the decades since them, many brides chose from a variety of center stones for their engagement ring, including gemstones and, color diamonds, and center stones with color. What has always been the case is that a bride chooses the engagement ring that best suits her personal style and taste, no matter what that style choice may be. The important thing to remember is that you should love your ring, since you will be wearing it every single day for the rest of your life, and potentially passing it down to future generations as a treasured memeory and keepsake. Since it is yours to commemorate you love, choose the ring that you want the most, regardless of the advice you may receive or what is common. 

 

Do black diamonds sound interesting? Have a look at some of our amazing black diamond jewelry.

 

Contributor: Benji Margolese

 

Related diamond articles
What are Yellow Diamonds, Are Yellow Diamonds Expensive and More FAQ
Why Invest in Diamonds and More FAQ About Diamond Investment
Black is Black - The Color Black in Fashion
The Black Orlov Diamond
Video Gallery